Dedicated to all things X-Tina.

Good morning, fellow SEC readers.

As I said before, yesterday was quite simply, the worst day the Serins could have been evicted – for me. I have a real job to do, and I can’t devote every single minute on them. I wish I had asked for a personal day yesterday – oh, well. Live and learn.

Anyway, a poster at CampIdiot allegedly contacted Steve Serin. This is their e-mail exchange:

 

I honestly wasn't expecting Steve to answer.

I honestly wasn't expecting Steve to answer.

 

I honestly would like someone with some psych knowledge to answer this riddle for me. I’d have expected him to still be in some sort of denial stage about the whole thing, and thus, no reply. But he’s still his same ol’ playful self – unfunny, yes, but attempting some self-deprecating humor.

This doesn’t feel right.

Your opinions?

James Marks
Seems to me they have a plan,
April 13th, 2011

EXTRA-SPECIAL UPDATE:

Sweet Casey Serin’s Facebook Wall now shows the following message:

Well, color me confused.
Well, color me confused.

aaaaand… he’s coming back! Or going back. I dunno.

This goes into the WTF category of this blog.

This goes into the WTF category of this blog.

Comments on: "Steve “Funny Man” Serin: Is there something we don’t know? (or “Are we being Keyser Söze’d?”)" (20)

  1. Sounds pretty straightforward to me – Steve’s mocking the Captain Obvious who emailed him. After watching Casey face foreclosure and bankruptcy for 4.5 years now, Steve is probably already familiar with the worst-case outcome.

  2. Tavington said:

    My first instinct is that this is forgery, but it’s done in good fun. But who knows… this could be real.

    I never thought in a million years that the auction would actually occur (considering past stays and legal holds that seemed to go on forever). What I’m wondering is, why didn’t Papa Serin file BK? Mama and Casey could not re-file until a few months so to me, the logical thing to do would have been to do the same tactic that had worked before.

    Did someone drop the ball in the Serin clan?

    But the saga is not completely over yet, the owner of the property still has to get the family removed from the property and according to some dots on CI, this process can take up to 120 days to enforce.

    • Anonymous said:

      It seems to me that either Papa Smurf was never solid behind the BK extension plan or they got spooked. Like when Casey got served back in Halloween but we are just hearing about it last month. I think in 3-6 months we will get information that will reveal what was actually going on this month.

      It might not have been an actual BK investigation, Moma Smurf filed twice and both got dismissed, its not that hard to image that it set off red flags in the computer system, which automatically send out a strongly worded letter intended to scare off BK fraudsters from doing it again. It could have been something like:

      “It has come to our attention that you have filed BK twice in the last 12 months and both were dismissed. This is to inform you that BK fraud has a sentence of 5 years and $250,000 fine if convicted.”

      Papa Smurf told Casey thanks for the free rent but this game has not win and will have to end at some point. Best we quit while we are ahead.

      Casey realizing that his gravy train has ended and a difficult phase involving lots of work was about to begin did what he usually does, he went on vacation.

      • Tavington said:

        That’s fair speculation, and I’m inclined to believe this is very possible.

        Perhaps the parents are making preparations to move out, and Casey ran off in order to avoid helping them out.

  3. Anonymous said:

    Assuming Steve’s email is legit, the best case for us is the fambly is going to challenge the sale based on some “show me the note” or admiralty law bullshit. I really hope that’s what they’re going to do.

    The worst case for the neighborhood is Steve bought the house using auto part fencing money and whatever the fambly scrapped together. $118k is a great deal.

    Most likely scenario: the fambly is staying put waiting for a cash-for-keys offer.

    • Yeah, the family suing the lender or something would be the funniest thing ever. But the time to do such a thing would have been before the house was sold.

      I know it could be a forgery and stuff. But, if it’s for real… damn. What’s the Crime Family hiding?

    • Property Flopper said:

      My bet is Steve (or some other friend / relative) bought the place and they’re going to stay.

  4. Aelfscine said:

    If the e-mail’s legit, I don’t think there’s much to read into it. This is an almost Joe-like child’s response, and I bet he’d react this way to just about any problem. ‘Put on a happy face and soldier on,’ sorta thing.

    Well, OK, perhaps ‘soldier’ was a bad choice of words since he couldn’t get in, but still!

    • Anonymous said:

      This feels “right” to me. Steve is being his sarcastic unfunny defensive self.

      It probably hurt to read it and he lashed out before he thought things through.

      I would have LOVED to have been a fly on the wall the first time a potential investor rang the doorbell and asked to have a look around. HEE!

      Yes, I know, but I was already going to Hell. 🙂

  5. dee duh dee said:

    James, I’m the “dot” who sent the e-mail, from a throwaway account at fastmail.fm …

    I assure you the e-mails both to and from Steve are legit. I know they’re nothing but text, and they’re easily forged, and no one has any reason to believe me. I e-mailed most of the other family members as well, except for Tim and xtina, and haven’t received any other replies.

    As for Steve, who knows, he might have plans to finally move away from his parents so their situation may not impact him as much.

    • Thanks for the confirmation. IMHO, I see no reason why you would lie about it.

      Steve loves X-Tina, so I think that whatever impacts her hurts him. I’m surprised he answered your mail that way, actually.

  6. Even if the fambly got a relative to buy the house it’s just one more person touched by the fecal finger.

  7. I honestly would like someone with some psych knowledge to answer this riddle for me. I’d have expected him to still be in some sort of denial stage about the whole thing, and thus, no reply. But he’s still his same ol’ playful self – unfunny, yes, but attempting some self-deprecating humor.
    This doesn’t feel right.

    It seems about right for me.

    In my view, Steve is sovok trash, just like his brother. Both of them mooch off of Mama and Papa Serin. Steve has a semi-legit job, but he has the maturity of a retarded 13 year old boy, as evidenced by his ‘pranks’ website.

    Steve’s email shows the bitterness that he is feeling. He knows that the free rent he now enjoys is coming to an end. He’s going to have to pay for his own apartment, or help his parents with the rent. That means no more fancy Mustangs, Jetskis and paintball.

    • palestine4ever said:

      “Steve has a semi-legit job, but he has the maturity of a retarded 13 year old boy who still thinks girls are icky”

      Fixed.

  8. koi free semi vegan said:

    I’m not at all convinced that this wasn’t a way for the Crime Family to shed a butt load of debt and get the old homestead back at a rock bottom price they can better afford. Their credit is trashed for the near future already. If they could scrape together about $25k and find a relative with clean credit and a different last name, their problem would be solved.

    • Why only 25k? That being said, having a different last name or not being a relative is not even a requirement. It’s just that it helps prevent any suspicion. Is there any way to find out who the buyer is, anyway?

      • Oh, believe me, the identity of the buyer will come out – the Haterz will do overtime to ferret out any connection between the buyer and the Crime Fambly.

    • Anonymous said:

      If they could scrape together about $25k and find a relative with clean credit and a different last name, their problem would be solved.

      A Serin, Peychev, or Mistiuk with clean credit and a steady provable income?
      HEE! You’re killing me.

  9. […] nobody (and I mean it) is so calm and composed after loosing (r) their family home. Exhibit a): Steve Serin jokes about being homeless, and Casey utters yet another catchphrase: NO PROBLEMZ, MON! Exhibit b): Steve Serin parks his car across the driveway. Exhibit c): Moving vans and topless […]

  10. I think it’s not so hard to understand. Humor is NOT mutually exclusive with denial. But also, they are the people who know that panicking and being sad is never helpful, so they just manage to laugh whatever chance they get. he could also very well just pretend to be happy and humorous to show the person writing that they’re not shamed or down, so they can be left alone.

    Either way, there’s no real damage one can do with an e-mail message, so he did the best he could to save face. Nothing wrong with that. I don’t care how he actually feels, I just am happy he is not living in a comfy home.

Leave a Reply

